Monterey Court Studio Galleries & Cafe

Upcoming Special Events

Tuesday, Sept. 16  Monterey Court Welcomes the bluegrass/ gypsy jazz/folk band from San Francisco-STEEP RAVINE for one night only! No Cover!

Album Review: Steep Ravine - Trampin' On

 

 

Steep Ravine has been steadily refining its unique mixture of folk, gypsy jazz, and bluegrass into something both increasingly intangible and captivating at once. Known widely around the bay area for their astounding live performances, instrumental prowess, diverse musical influences, and primary compositional ingenuity of guitarist Simon Linsteadt, the band continues to operate alongside a growing fan base of young and old alike.

 

Their all-original debut Trampin’ On is a poignant, laid-back, and polished blend of their diverse influences. “White Mare” builds a narrative around a single image; a lover’s comment causes Linsteadt to reflect on his origins in the steady, introspective “Wooden Floors”; the melodic refrain of “Lazy Tide” calls to mind The Band’s Last Waltz theme; and mandolinist Andy O’brien’s traditional-lean shines through in his composition “No.37”. The album closes with the relaxed country breeze of “C’mon Home”, and as the agile group continues its journey, the summer ahead is brimming with shows in Washington,Oregon, Canada, Colorado, New Mexico, and California. - Justin Kohlberg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=szSJbH6XPew



 

 

Events Calendar

Tue Sep 02 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Tue Sep 02 @ 6:30PM - 09:30PM
Buck Helton & Dennis Knill
Wed Sep 03 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wine Wednesdays
Wed Sep 03 @ 6:30PM - 09:30PM
Peter McLaughlin & Alvin Blaine
Thu Sep 04 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Fri Sep 05 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Wayback Machine
Sun Sep 07 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
Rafael Moreno Quartet
Tue Sep 09 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Tue Sep 09 @ 6:30PM - 09:30PM
Dueling Keys
Wed Sep 10 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wine Wednesdays
Wed Sep 10 @ 6:30PM - 09:30PM
Tucson Songwriters Showcase
Thu Sep 11 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Thu Sep 11 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Borderland
Sat Sep 13 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Cochise County Allstars
Tue Sep 16 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Wed Sep 17 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wine Wednesdays
Thu Sep 18 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Tue Sep 23 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Wed Sep 24 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wine Wednesdays
Thu Sep 25 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Sun Sep 28 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
Kathy Davis & the Groove Tones
Tue Sep 30 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Wed Oct 01 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wine Wednesdays
Wed Oct 01 @ 6:30PM - 09:30PM
Peter McLaughlin & Alvin Blaine
Thu Oct 02 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Tue Oct 07 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Wed Oct 08 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wine Wednesdays
Thu Oct 09 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Tue Oct 14 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Wed Oct 15 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wine Wednesdays
Thu Oct 16 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Tue Oct 21 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Wed Oct 22 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wine Wednesdays
Thu Oct 23 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Tue Oct 28 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Wed Oct 29 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wine Wednesdays
Thu Oct 30 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays

Find us on Facebook

 

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Interests

Email Format

 

Courtyard Stage

The centerpiece of the courtyard is the new performance stage which hosts performers and musicians of all genres and has enough portable seating to accomodate up to 300 guests. The design of the stage allows for intimate performances to the dinner crowd on our dining patio as well as covered areas for most of the guests for our larger performances. We offer live music nightly Tuesday—Sunday- evenings. The acoustics within the courtyard are amazing. Additionally, we will be hosting numerous festivals and special performances through out the year. Please check in to our event calender often for updates. We welcome new acts to perform. Groups interested in performing on stage can   e-mail us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . The stage is equipped with a house sound system and lighting. Others requesting use of the courtyard and stage for a private event should e-mail us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.