Monterey Court Studio Galleries & Cafe

Upcoming Special Events

Tuesday, Sept. 16  Monterey Court Welcomes the bluegrass/ gypsy jazz/folk band from San Francisco-STEEP RAVINE for one night only! No Cover!

Album Review: Steep Ravine - Trampin' On

 

 

Steep Ravine has been steadily refining its unique mixture of folk, gypsy jazz, and bluegrass into something both increasingly intangible and captivating at once. Known widely around the bay area for their astounding live performances, instrumental prowess, diverse musical influences, and primary compositional ingenuity of guitarist Simon Linsteadt, the band continues to operate alongside a growing fan base of young and old alike.

 

Their all-original debut Trampin’ On is a poignant, laid-back, and polished blend of their diverse influences. “White Mare” builds a narrative around a single image; a lover’s comment causes Linsteadt to reflect on his origins in the steady, introspective “Wooden Floors”; the melodic refrain of “Lazy Tide” calls to mind The Band’s Last Waltz theme; and mandolinist Andy O’brien’s traditional-lean shines through in his composition “No.37”. The album closes with the relaxed country breeze of “C’mon Home”, and as the agile group continues its journey, the summer ahead is brimming with shows in Washington,Oregon, Canada, Colorado, New Mexico, and California and Arizona - Justin Kohlberg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=szSJbH6XPew

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Join us in welcoming back Gabriel Ayala and his Quintet for a great evening of JazzMenco.  Gabriel is renowned for his melding of jazz fusion guitar with flamenco overtones.  He has played for presidents, the pope, and dignitaries around the globe.  He has just released another cd and here is your chance to catch him in a setting tailor made for his performances. Get your dinner reservations early and receive vip seating on the dance floor.  Tickets for the performance available at http://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/857156.   Reservations for dinner at 207-2429.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

October 5th- 6:30-9 please join us in welcoming NYC. Jazz Guitarist Joshua Breakstone to the Monterey for a special concert.  Joshua is renowned for his bop style guitar and is never one to shy away from interpreting some of the monsters of jazz including, Monk, Coltraine, Mingus and Powell. Having just completed his 20th album since 1983 Joshua continues to impress critics and audiences alike.  On this night Joshua will be joined by Tucson's own Fred Hayes on percussion, and bassist Jack Wood. Tickets available at:

http://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/857181

 

 http://joshuabreakstone.com/

 

 

 

Events Calendar

Fri Sep 19 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
The Jits
Sat Sep 20 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Mary Cartter & the Dragoon Mtn. Boys
Sun Sep 21 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
Jazz Connection w/ Joe LoCascio
Tue Sep 23 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Tue Sep 23 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Kathleen Williamson
Wed Sep 24 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wine Wednesdays
Wed Sep 24 @ 6:30PM - 09:30PM
You Knew Me When
Thu Sep 25 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Thu Sep 25 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Greyhound Soul
Fri Sep 26 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Gabriel Ayala Quintet
Sat Sep 27 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Heartbeat
Sun Sep 28 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
Swingset
Tue Sep 30 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Tue Sep 30 @ 6:30PM - 09:30PM
Don Armstrong
Wed Oct 01 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wine Wednesdays
Wed Oct 01 @ 6:30PM - 09:30PM
Peter McLaughlin & Alvin Blaine
Thu Oct 02 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Thu Oct 02 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Bluz Nite
Fri Oct 03 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Giant Blue
Sat Oct 04 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
The Coolers
Sun Oct 05 @ 6:30PM - 09:00PM
Joshua Breakstone Trio
Tue Oct 07 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Wed Oct 08 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wine Wednesdays
Wed Oct 08 @ 6:30PM - 09:30PM
Tucson Songwriters Showcase
Thu Oct 09 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Thu Oct 09 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Jim St. James & Scott Jordans
Fri Oct 10 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Lone Madrone
Sat Oct 11 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
TKMA Presents show
Tue Oct 14 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Tue Oct 14 @ 6:30PM - 09:30PM
43 MIles North
Wed Oct 15 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wine Wednesdays
Thu Oct 16 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Fri Oct 17 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Black Skillet Revue
Sat Oct 18 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Haywire
Sun Oct 19 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
Jazz Connection w/ Joe LoCascio
Tue Oct 21 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Wed Oct 22 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wine Wednesdays
Thu Oct 23 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Fri Oct 24 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Angel Diamond & the Blues Disciples
Sun Oct 26 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
Kathy Davis & the Groove Tones
Tue Oct 28 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Wed Oct 29 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wine Wednesdays
Thu Oct 30 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Fri Oct 31 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Halloween Costume Bash with ROH
Tue Nov 04 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Wed Nov 05 @ 6:30PM - 09:30PM
Peter McLaughlin & Alvin Blaine
Thu Nov 06 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Fri Nov 07 @ 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Little House of Funk
Tue Nov 11 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays
Thu Nov 13 @ 4:00PM - 10:00PM
Terrific Thursdays
Tue Nov 18 @11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tequila Tuesdays

Find us on Facebook

 

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Interests

Email Format

 

Courtyard Stage

The centerpiece of the courtyard is the new performance stage which hosts performers and musicians of all genres and has enough portable seating to accomodate up to 300 guests. The design of the stage allows for intimate performances to the dinner crowd on our dining patio as well as covered areas for most of the guests for our larger performances. We offer live music nightly Tuesday—Sunday- evenings. The acoustics within the courtyard are amazing. Additionally, we will be hosting numerous festivals and special performances through out the year. Please check in to our event calender often for updates. We welcome new acts to perform. Groups interested in performing on stage can   e-mail us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . The stage is equipped with a house sound system and lighting. Others requesting use of the courtyard and stage for a private event should e-mail us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.